Skip to content

Key resources

  • Bibliography
    Bibliography
  • Health promotion
    Health promotion
  • Health practice
    Health practice
  • Yarning places
    Yarning places
  • Programs
    Programs
  • Organisations
    Organisations
  • Conferences
    Conferences
  • Courses
    Courses
  • Funding
    Funding
  • Jobs
    Jobs
Australian Indigenous HealthBulletin
 

Driving change

 

Overview

Driving change is a community-led program that supports young Indigenous people in New South Wales (NSW) to obtain a drivers license. The program aims to enhance opportunities for employment, education and access to health services by assisting participants to overcome barriers in obtaining a drivers license. Support includes:

Driving change is a George Institute initiative, funded by the AstraZeneca young health programme and Transport for NSW with the Centre for Road Safety.

Abstract adapted from Driving Change

Contacts

Campbelltown
Micheline Fabila
Driving Change Youth Worker
Airds WorkVentures Connect Centre
86A Greengate Road
Airds NSW 2560
Mobile: 0477 402 363
Email: mfabila@georgeinstitute.org.au

Condobolin

Janene Richards
Driving Change Youth Worker
Condobolin Western Plains Regional Development Community Centre
18 William Street
Condobolin NSW 2877
Mobile: 0432 000 874
Email: jrichards@georgeinstitute.org.au

Dareton
Aaaron Taylor
Driving Change Community Licensing Champion
Mallee Family Centre
3 Devenport Street
Dareton NSW 2717
Mobile: 0432 000 924
Email: ataylor@georgeinstitute.org.au

Dubbo
Rosemarie McBride
Driving Change Community Licensing Champion
Dubbo Aboriginal Lands Council
Cnr Wingerra and Darling Streets
Dubbo NSW 2830
Mobile: 0410 589 021
Email: rmcbride@georgeinstitute.org.au

Kempsey
Teminya Fernando
Driving Change Youth Worker
Kempsey Neighbourhood Centre
5 Kemp Street
Kempsey NSW 2440
Mobile: 0477 400 063
Email: tfernando@georgeinstitute.org.au

Mt Druitt
Jake Byrne
Driving Change Community Licensing Champion
Ph: 1800 754 750
Email: jbyrne@georgeinstitute.org.au

Raymond Terrace
Peter Kafer
Driving Change Youth Worker
29 Shearman Avenue
Raymond Terrace NSW 2324
Mobile: 0414 857 457
Email: pkafer@georgeinstitute.org.au

Taree
Jennifer Rumbel
Driving Change Youth Worker
Taree PCYC
95 Commerce Street
Taree NSW 2430
Mobile: 0410 589 223
Email: jrumbel@georgeinstitute.org.au

Wagga Wagga
Alex Niki
Driving Change Community Licensing Champion
Red Cross Community Centre
88 Murray Street
Wagga Wagga NSW 2650
Mobile: 0432 000 090
Email: aniki@georgeinstitute.org.au

Related publications

Cullen P, Clapham K, Byrne J, Hunter K, Senserrick T, Keay L, Ivers R (2016)

The importance of context in logic model construction for a multi-site community-based Aboriginal driver licensing program.

Evaluation and Program Planning; 57(August 2016): 8-15

Links

 
Last updated: 13 May 2016
 
Return to top