Skip to content

Key resources

  • Bibliography
  • Health promotion
    Health promotion
  • Health practice
    Health practice
  • Programs
  • Conferences
  • Courses
  • Funding
  • Jobs
  • Organisations
  • Health Services MapHealth Services Map
Australian Indigenous HealthBulletin Alcohol and other drugs knowledge centre Yarning Places

Winners of the national NAIDOC awards announced

Date posted: 9 July 2012

Twelve outstanding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians were honoured at the 2012 National NAIDOC Awards Ceremony and Ball in Hobart on Friday 6 July 2012.

'NAIDOC' stands for the National Aborigines and Islanders Day Observance Committee. Its origins can be traced to the emergence of Aboriginal groups in the 1920s which sought to increase awareness in the wider community of the status and treatment of Indigenous Australians.

The NAIDOC awards highlight the outstanding contributions and efforts made by Indigenous Australians in their communities or chosen fields.

Minister for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs, Jenny Macklin, presented the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award to Bunna Lawrie, a respected Mirning Elder from South Australia.

Bunna Lawrie is an inspirational role model who reaches people through the gift of music and has been a major contributor to Australian music as a solo artist and founding member of the band Coloured Stone.

The 2012 Person of the Year Award was sponsored by the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. This award went to David Wirrpanda for his work with Indigenous young people and the establishment of the David Wirrpanda Foundation.

Awards were issued across 10 categories and included joint winners for the Sportsperson of the Year and Female Elder or the Year Awards.

The 2012 National NAIDOC Award recipients were:

Source: NAIDOC


Last updated: 11 July 2012
Return to top