Skip to content

Key resources

  • Bibliography
  • Health promotion
    Health promotion
  • Health practice
    Health practice
  • Programs
  • Conferences
  • Courses
  • Funding
  • Jobs
  • Organisations
  • Health Services MapHealth Services Map
Australian Indigenous HealthBulletin Alcohol and other drugs knowledge centre Yarning Places

Ethics Council established for the National Congress of Australia's First Peoples

Date posted: 15 January 2010

The inaugural Ethics Council has been established for the new representative body of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, the National Congress of Australia's First Peoples. The Ethics Council will be responsible for developing and maintaining standards for the Congress. Its six members were announced by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner, Tom Calma, on 4 January 2010.

The Ethics Council members are Professor Larissa Behrendt, Mr Tom Calma, Mr Wesley Enoch, Ms Mary Graham, Ms Nalwarri Ngurruwutthun, and Professor Lester-Irabinna Rigney.

The National Congress of Australia's First Peoples Executive Committee candidates will be short listed by the Ethics Council. The process of the selection is based on the Nolan principles and will be guided by a merit-based process.

The Steering Committee and the Ethics Council will finalise the interim national executive by the end of January 2010. This body will then lead the organisation through its development phase in 2010.

Tom Calma declared that the "appointment of the Ethics Council members takes us one step closer to having a representative voice for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples for the first time in five years".


Australian Human Rights Commission
Level 8, Piccadilly Tower
133 Castlereagh Street
Sydney NSW 2000
GPO Box 5218
Sydney NSW 2001
Ph: (02) 9284 9600
General enquiries and publications: Ph: 1300 369 711
TTY: 1800 620 241
Fax: (02) 9284 9611


Last updated: 28 January 2010
Return to top