Skip to content

Key resources

  • Bibliography
  • Health promotion
    Health promotion
  • Health practice
    Health practice
  • Programs
  • Conferences
  • Courses
  • Funding
  • Jobs
  • Organisations
  • Health Services MapHealth Services Map
Australian Indigenous HealthBulletin Alcohol and other drugs knowledge centre Yarning Places
View another consultant:

Ms Rosemary Wanganeen

Chief Executive Officer
10 Cowie Street
Ethelton SA, 5015
Tel: (08) 8341 5557
Fax: (08) 8242 2690


Rosemary Wanganeen is the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Institute for Loss and Grief based in Adelaide. She is a proud Aboriginal woman from South Australia (SA) with Kaurna, Wirrangu, Koogatha and English heritage.

In 1988, Rosemary served on the Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody (RCIADIC) at Premier and Cabinet in SA for two and a half years as a research officer in the Aboriginal Issues Unit. Rosemary went on to study loss and grief with Bereavement Educational Services in 1994 and upon completion of her studies, developed the loss and grief model known as the Seven phases to integrating loss and grief to reclaim intuitive intelligence. This model aids in explaining why many Aboriginal people face challenges in accessing local mainstream services and also addresses the importance of implementing effective services in Aboriginal communities. The model has been successfully used by Rosemary in her counselling practice specialising in loss and grief and at more than 30 bi-cultural awareness programs and 40 seminars and presentations both nationally and internationally.

Rosemary’s research interests lie in loss and grief and she is dedicated to providing understandable information and resources, maintaining the position that unresolved grief can lead to many social, emotional and health challenges.

Over the years, Rosemary has received a number of awards and accolades including:

  • Aboriginal Health Council (South Australia), Outstanding Health Project/Program – 2016
  • Australian Ethnic Award Nomination – 2011 (state finalist) and 2012
  • The Gladys Elphick Centenary Medal, 2011
  • South Australian of the Year Winner (community award) - 2009
  • Telstra Business Woman of the Year Nomination, 2000
  • Zonta Club of Adelaide, Women of Achievement Award (South Australia) – 2000.
Last updated: 14 March 2017
Return to top