Skip to content

Key resources

  • Bibliography
    Bibliography
  • Health promotion
    Health promotion
  • Health practice
    Health practice
  • Yarning places
    Yarning places
  • Programs
    Programs
  • Organisations
    Organisations
  • Conferences
    Conferences
  • Courses
    Courses
  • Funding
    Funding
  • Jobs
    Jobs
Australian Indigenous HealthBulletin
 
  • Home
    • » Key resources and services

Nutrition Society of Australia

 

Description

The Nutrition Society of Australia is a group of qualified, practising scientists and educators which meet locally and nationally to discuss the science of nutrition. The society is represented across Australia by regional groups and managed by a national executive.

The main focus of the organisation is based around the mutual scientific support of members and the science of nutrition. The Society's core goal is to increase and communicate the scientific value and relevance of nutrition science in Australia. Members include human nutritionists and dietitians, medical practitioners and nurses, agricultural scientists and veterinarians, food scientists, teachers and students.

Abstract adapted from Nutrition Society of Australia

Contacts

Melbourne
Dr Jane Muir
Department of Gastroenterology, Central Clinical School
Monash University
Level 6, The Alfred Centre
99 Commercial Rd
Prahran VIC 3181
Ph: (03) 9902 0274
E: jane.muir@monash.edu


Adelaide
Dr Damien Belobrajdic
CSIRO Animal Food and Health Sciences
Kintore Avenue
Adelaide SA 5000
Ph: (08) 8303 8815
Fax: (08) 8303 8899
Email: damien.belobrajdic@csiro.au


Brisbane
Dr Shawn Somerset
School of Public Health, Griffith University
University Drive
Meadowbrook QLD 4131
Ph: (07) 3382 1027
Fax: (07) 3382 1034
Email: s.somerset@griffith.edu.au


Canberra
Ms Peta Craig
Email: petaecraig@gmail.com


Newcastle
Dr Hayley Scott
Viruses, Infections/Immunity, Vaccines and Asthma (VIVA)
Hunter Medical Research Institute
New Lambton Heights NSW 2305
Ph: (02) 4042 0113
Fax: (02) 4042 0022
Email: hayley.scott@newcastle.edu.au


Perth
Dr Tony James
Curtin University
Perth WA 6000
Ph: (08) 9266 2962
Fax: (08) 9266 2258
Email: T.P.James@curtin.edu.au


Sydney
Dr Kim Bell-Anderson
Nutrition and Metabolism
University of Sydney NSW 2006
Ph: (02) 9351 6276
Email: kim@usyd.edu.au


Tasmania
Mr Chris Forbes-Ewan
Defence Nutrition
74 George Street
Scottsdale TAS 7260
Ph: 03 6352 6607
Fax: 03 6352 3044
Email: chris.forbes-ewan@defence.gov.au


Wollongong
A/Professor Karen Charlton
School of Health Sciences
University of Wollogong
Wollongong NSW 2522
Ph: (02) 4221 4754
Fax: (02) 4221 4844
Email: karenc@uow.edu.au

Links

 
Last updated: 19 November 2013
 
Return to top