Skip to content

Key resources

  • Bibliography
  • Health promotion
    Health promotion
  • Health practice
    Health practice
  • Programs
  • Conferences
  • Courses
  • Funding
  • Jobs
  • Organisations
  • Health Services MapHealth Services Map
Australian Indigenous HealthBulletin Alcohol and other drugs knowledge centre Yarning Places
View another consultant:

Dr Lisa Jamieson

Director, Indigenous Oral Health Unit
Indigenous Oral Health Unit, Level 9, Adelaide Health and Medical Sciences Building, 57 North Terrace
Adelaide SA, 5000
Tel: (08) 8313 4611


Associate Professor Lisa Jamieson is Director of the Indigenous Oral Health Unit and an Associate Professor for the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) at the University of Adelaide.

Professor Jamieson is a recognised leading researcher in the field of Indigenous oral health and has made significant contributions to national Indigenous oral health and dental services policy in Australia. Over the years, she has been interested in oral health of vulnerable populations, including Indigenous populations, which has led her to work in a range of roles. These roles include:

Professor Jamieson has established research interventions among Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders and was involved in forming the dental component of Wave-3 of the Aboriginal Birth Cohort, a study that seeks to identify groups who are most at risk of developing chronic conditions. She has also been involved in a community-owned oral health promotion initiative, Pika Wiya Health Services Inc., based in Port Augusta, South Australia.

Her research interests focus on examining the disparity of oral health between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders and non-Indigenous Australians and aims to influence oral health related policies and service provisions to reduce the burden of oral disease experience by Aboriginal populations both nationally and internationally.

In 2008, Professor Jamieson was awarded with a prestigious Career Development Fellowship from the National Health and Medical Research Council, which she was subsequently awarded again in 2012. She was a finalist for the South Australian Science Excellence Awards and Excellence in Research for Public Good Award in 2010.

Last updated: 5 July 2017
Return to top